Author Topic: Why are you even talking about this?  (Read 1112 times)

Offline uScott

• View Profile
Why are you even talking about this?
« on: February 10, 2012, 11:55:50 PM »
So I was sitting in my office today when some anonymous student[1] wanders in and starts asking me about my leg. Hey, how's the leg? Oh, I was a student here back when you lost it. Wasn't it above the knee?

And I'm like...umm, it's fine...and...ah...you know, this isn't a topic for conversation, is there anything else I can help you with today?

And the guy gets this hurt look on his face, and then he goes away.

Back when I lost my leg, it wasn't a big secret, I went to work on crutches for a while and when people were curious I put them at ease. Even now I'm not shy about dressing for comfort. If I'm in shorts and someone's just curious, that's fine. It's just life, and when I show that I'm OK with it, it's easier for you to be OK with it too.

But to bring it up apropos of nothing, or quiz me down on gritty details...I'm sorry, but that's beyond curiosity, edging past inconsiderate into frank rudeness. I'm not inclined to indulge that, and I'll shut you down in a hurry.

Am I wrong? I mean, I'm still gonna do exactly what I do anyway, but...dang, it's just been a while since anybody got in my face like that, and I did not like it today. Just venting a little I guess.

Note [1]: I work in higher education, "student" can be any age from 16 to 90+, and some of them hang around for years....

Offline Steve C

• the west of Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: Why are you even talking about this?
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2012, 06:27:25 AM »