Author Topic: Ideal upper limb prosthesis  (Read 1898 times)

Offline cogwollop

• View Profile
Ideal upper limb prosthesis
« on: January 18, 2010, 11:42:46 AM »
Hi Everyone.

My names Jerome and i'm a final year design student in a small college in Ireland.

I'm trying to design an upper limb prostheses so i'm aiming towards problem solving. I'm wondering if anyone whould mind telling me what they would desire most in a prosthetic and what day to day problems people encounter in existing models etc.

The question is not just about function, but also wondering what people would like their prosthetics to look like.

I want to challenge the idea of 'disability' which i detest, but rater create something which is actually desirable..

Cheers! 

Offline Steve C

• the west of Ireland
    • View Profile
Re: Ideal upper limb prosthesis
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2010, 10:51:33 PM »
Jerome,

I'm a below knee amputee so of virtually no use to you as you're trying to design a upper limb prosthesis. That said, from a leg amputees point of view the things I need/want from a prosthesis are:
comfort
fit (it needs to fit perfectly. If it isn't perfect it causes discomfort)
having it secure (no moving about)
function (obvious)
low maintenance (usually from less parts or more durable parts)
light weight
low cost

As far as looks, I can go one of two ways. Very life like or no cosmetic cover at all. It seems that most prosthetics when exposed are very obvious especially where they are attached. Yet a very life like cover/skin will add weight which is bad. Get around this and you'll get peoples attention.