Author Topic: Hey All From a Symes  (Read 9069 times)

Offline GravyLeg Pirate

• View Profile
Hey All From a Symes
« on: September 06, 2009, 01:13:09 PM »
Hey there everyone, I've been lurking on this site for a little while now and decided to register finally. I was involved in a motorcycle accident in 1997 and have a Symes amputation. I'm a firefighter/paramedic and have had great success so far as long as I stay on top of my stump shrinking throughout the day. Normally a Symes means one can bear weight on the distal end of the stump, but I cannot. My medial malleolus has a notch on it that hurts like a bugger, and my heel pad has rotated posteriorly, so I add socks to keep suspended in my prosthesis.  But really outside of that I've been able to do the job I love, so really what more could one want?

Well, now that I have a 2 year old at home, I want to be able to run with her and am getting tired of the blisters and bumps that result from such a long residual limb, so I'm thinking about getting the Ertl procedure done. I see that several of you have had it, and I'm yet to read anything bad about it. So if anyone has any thoughts on it, I'm all ears!

Anyway, looking forward to posting and getting to know you all! Have a great holiday weekend!
GravyLeg Pirate
"I'd give my right foot to be ambidextrous"

Offline Mitchee

• Oshkosh, WI
    • View Profile
Re: Hey All From a Symes
« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2009, 01:52:25 PM »
Hello and welcome to the forum.  I'm an Ertl LBKA.  If you have any Ertl questions, please feel free to ask.  Hopefully, myself and others will be able to answer them.   :)

Michelle
Initial injury:  July 1985
Amputation:  December 2006 - Ertl LBKA

"The journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step."
 -Lao Tzu

Offline GravyLeg Pirate

• View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2009, 07:55:32 PM »